Planning Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Planning Commission consists of seven members appointed by the City Council for a term of two years. Their role is to review land use proposals, involving recommendations to the City Council on the General Plan, Master Plans, Precise Development Plans, Specific Plans, Rezonings, annexations and CEQA determinations; as well as making determinations regarding Tentative Maps, Use Permits and appeals of Design Review Commission and Zoning Administrator decisions.

Meetings: 2nd & 4th Monday - 7:00 p.m.
901 Sherman Avenue, Novato
Staff Liaison: Steve Marshall, Planning Manager

Exercise its powers and duties per Sections 2-10.4 & .5 of the Code which includes maintenance of the General Plan, review of subdivisions of land, review zoning plan, recommend or disapprove any proposed changes and acts in an advisory capacity on planning issues.(Members must live within City limits.)

Authorization: Code Section 2-10.1 through 2-10.5 (1960)
No. of Members: 7
Tenure: 2 years. Expires 9/1
Online Planning Commission Application    
Planning Commission Agendas, Minutes & Video 
Contact the Planning Commission
   Commissioner/Name  Term Begins  Term Expires
   Justin Derby, Chair  September 1, 2017  September 1, 2019
   David Gabriel, Vice Chair  September 1, 2018  September 1, 2020
   Dan Dawson  September 1, 2018  September 1, 2020
   Reva Rao  September 1, 2018  September 1, 2020
   Peter Tiernan  September 1, 2017  September 1, 2019
   Susan Wernick  September 1, 2017  September 1, 2019
   Thomas Weldon  September 1, 2017  September 1, 2019


Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer