Planning Division

Print

The Planning Division has two primary functions: 

  • Assisting the community, and ultimately the City Council, plan for the City’s future development, and 
  • Reviewing proposed development projects for conformance with the City’s adopted policies and ordinances and environmental laws.

The Division is responsible for maintaining and implementing the City’s General Plan and Zoning Ordinance, which guide development decisions, and the City’s Climate Change Action Plan which seeks to lower emissions of greenhouse gases and adapt to the effects of climate change.

The Planning staff work with prospective applicants and neighbors to assure that new development improves the area and is consistent with adopted community-wide objectives.

The Division provides staff support to the Planning Commission and Design Review Commission.

 

Public Counter Hours: 9 am - 11 am, Monday - Thursday

Planning Staff

Elizabeth Dunn               Planning Manager     415-493-4711 edunn@novato.org
Matt Gilster            Planner I 415-493-4708 mgilster@novato.org
Hans Grunt Senior Planner 415-899-8940 hgrunt@novato.org
Brian Keefer Planner II 415-899-8941 bkeefer@novato.org
Graham Owen Planner I 415-899-8944 gowen@novato.org
Steve Marshall Principal Planner 415-899-8942 smarshall@novato.org

 

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.